The Merlin Award to magic is what the Oscar is to the movies, what the Emmy is for television, and what the Tony is for theater.


Some of the winners of the Merlin Award are:


Harry Blackstone

Doug Henning

Channing Pollack

Siegfried & Roy

Penn & Teller

David Copperfield

Criss Angel

Lu Chen

Luis de Matos


There are three ways a magician can receive the Merlin Award. One is to attend our Merlin Award banquet dinner; this is by invitation only, after the recipient was voted to receive the Merlin Award.


Two is to participate and win a Merlin Award competition in different countries, which is organized by IMS with the event and convention organizers.


And three is for us to travel to the magician’s country and present the Merlin Award to them in their own country.


The Merlin Award is presented to those magicians who have achieved the highest level in their craft, both on the national and international stage.


The criteria that the voting members consider are talent, showmanship, originality, skills, and above all the rare ability to entertain under any conditions.


The Merlin Award statue was commissioned to over 100 art students nationwide. The winning design was carved and created in 1968 by young New York University art student Carol Michaud.


Click here for the list of recipients.